Fort Wayne Sports Corporation

FWSC Award Honorees


Sportsman of the Year Award - presented, when appropriate, to an outstanding individual whose accomplishments during the year were extraordinary.

  • John Weissert - first president of the Fort Wayne Sports Corporation

Visionary Leadership Award - Given to individuals, programs or organizations bringing new sports opportunities to the Fort Wayne area


  • 3 Sheets Development, LLC - development of ice arena facilities in the Fort Wayne area

Hilliard Gates Lifetime Achievement Award - first presented to long-time broadcasting icon, Hilliard Gates, this award goes to individuals or organizations that have played a significant role in Fort Wayne area sports for many years.

  • Hilliard Gates - Long-time sports broadcaster in Fort Wayne


  • Jack Swarbrick - Athletic Director at the University of Notre Dame

Special Achievement Award - presented to individuals, programs, venues or organizations recognized for an important sports accomplishment.

  • Memorial Stadium - the original ballpark that was home to Fort Wayne's first single A baseball team (Wizards) affiliated originally with the Minnesota Twins
  • Nel Fettig - 1994 Parade "Player of the Year" and Parade All-American in women's soccer
  • Tiffany Gooden - 1994 Naismith and Parade Magazine National Player of the Year; 1994 Indiana Miss Basketball; and 3-Time 1st Team Parade All-American.  Aside from Tiffany, no other high school basketball player from the City of Fort Wayne, male or female, has ever earned National Player of the Year honors

Community Award - Given to individuals, programs or organizations that have had an important impact in the sports community.

  • Carl Bennett - key figure in the Zollner Pistons professional basketball and softball teams
  • John "Red" Braden - player/coach of the Fort Wayne semi-pro baseball team that won two world titles
  • Edward "Red" Carrington - father of amateur baseball in Fort Wayne
  • Bob Chase - popular radio broadcaster and long-time voice of the Fort Wayne Komets
  • Len Davis - popular sports broadcaster who covered area high school games for years
  • John Johnson - father of tennis in Fort Wayne
  • Walter Jordan - former NBA player and Purdue basketball standout who helped lead the Northrop Bruins to the Indiana State title in 1974
  • Jim Kelley - civic leader who invested time and money in area golf courses
  • Don Myers - past General Manager of tthe Memorial Coliseum; leader of Jaycees effort to build Coliseum
  • Rodger Nelson - one of the founders of the Mad Anthonys
  • Phil Olofson - key promoter of sporting events in Fort Wayne
  • Bob Reed - former sports editor of the Fort Wayne News Sentinal newspaper
  • Ben Tenney - former sports editor of the Fort Wayne Journal-Gazette newspaper
  • Coliseum Board of Trustees - community leaders with the vision to build the Memorial Coliseum and expand the Coliseum/Exposition Center
  • Fort Wayne Daisies - Fort Wayne women's professional softball team of the late 1940s
  • Fury Basketball - Fort Wayne's former CBA team
  • Komet Hockey - Fort Wayne's professional hockey team that has won championships in many leagues
  • Mad Anthonys - annual pro-am golf event that has raised over $1 million for local charities
  • run, Jane, run - nationwide women's fitness event that traces it's roots to Fort Wayne
  • Wildcat Baseball - premier youth baseball league where everybody makes the team


  • World Baseball Academy of Fort Wayne - Organization promoting baseball instruction and international competition at the ASH Centre
  • Special Olympics of Allen County - Providing fitness and sports opportunities for the physically and mentally challenged


  • Allen County War Memorial Coliseum - Indoor stadium/expo facility that is home to the Komets, Mad Ants, IPFW men's basketball team, in addition to many other sporting events
  • Speice Fieldhouse - multi-court basketball/volleyball/sports facility that has hosted many national tournaments, leagues and fitness programs
  • Parkview Field - Downtown home to Fort Wayne's single-A baseball team (TinCaps) affiliated with the San Diego Padres


  • Jim Clark - Indiana Hall-of-Fame Tennis Coach
  • Terry Stefankiewicz - former IPFW and Trine mens soccer coach
  • Aboite New Trails, Inc. - local fitness trails development and maintenance organization

Judy Stuart Award - presented to those individuals or organizations whose volunteerism greatly influenced the Fort Wayne sports landscape.  The award is named after Judy Stuart, who's time and effort on behalf of the FWSC helped elevate the organization to new levels of success.


  • Mr. Don Graham -<


  • Jim Winters - Metro Youth Football Director